As a heritage museum, the Chisholm Trail Heritage Museum connects us to the everyday lives of our pioneer ancestors, and brings this era in American history vividly to life through interpretive exhibits, research, and educational programs.
In early 2000, The Chisholm Trail Heritage Museum was established to preserve the ranching and agricultural heritage of DeWitt County and surrounding areas in South Texas, with its roots in the great cattle drives of the late 19th century, when the cowboy became an American icon, and the Longhorn steer a legend.
The Story of Our Building
The Museum’s exhibits and facilities are housed in the historic Knights of Pythias Hall, located at 302 North Esplanade, on Cuero’s main North-South thoroughfare. The CTHM board acquired the two-story edifice in 2002 with an eye towards repurposing it for the organization’s use, and soon after the purchase it was designated a Recorded Texas Historic Landmark. Built in 1903, the Jewel Lodge was made a contributing structure to Cuero’s “Downtown Commercial Historic District”, and the building, itself, is a treasured part of the same heritage and historic period as the artifacts to be found within.
At the culmination of a renovation and rehabilitation endeavor lasting nearly 14 years and a total investment of $2,472,000, the beautifully restored Chisholm Trail Heritage Museum opened its doors to an eager public in November 2013. Visitors now discover world-class, interpretive exhibits on the ground floor of the Museum, which also includes a second-floor, 5,000-square-foot business and recreational community-use facility, and a two-story 4,500-square-foot annex. Also on the grounds are the adjacent George Bishop Park, ideal for outdoor events and activities, and the restored Queen-Anne Victorian Proctor-Green house (c. 1892).